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Two Bills Were Referred to JCHC for Review

Two similar bills - SB184 and HB1097 – that address requirements 
for minor  consent for voluntary inpatient psychiatric treatment were 
referred to JCHC for additional study from the Senate and House 
Courts of Justice committees. 

SB 184 (McWaters):  Removes provisions of the Code requiring 
the consent of a minor 14 years of age or older prior to admission 
to a mental health facility for inpatient treatment. After admission, 
if a minor 14 years of age or older objects to inpatient treatment, 
his admission would need to be judicially approved. 

HB 1097 (LeMunyon): Eliminates the requirement that a minor 
who is 14 years of age or older consent to inpatient psychiatric 
treatment.

3

Parental Admission of Minors for Inpatient Psychiatric 
Treatment Involves Interests of Parents, Children and 
Government

Organizations Consulted for Study
American Civil Liberties Union
Attorney General of Virginia
Commonwealth Center for Children & Adolescents
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services
disAbility Law Center of Virginia
Dominion Hospital 
Judge David L. Bazelon, Center for Mental Health Law 
JustChildren of the Legal Aid Justice Center
Local Community Services Boards
National Alliance on Mental Illness of Virginia
National Conference of State Legislatures
Supreme Court of Virginia
UVA Institute of Law, Psychiatry and Public Policy
Virginia Association of Community Services Boards
Virginia Health Information
Virginia Hospital and Healthcare Association
Voices for Virginia’s Children

4

Parents Children

Government

Note: Code of Virginia §§16.1-338 and 16.1-339 address the criteria for 
voluntary admission for inpatient treatment of minors  
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Adolescent Cognitive Development
“The consensus to emerge from recent research on the adolescent brain is that 
teenagers are not as mature in either brain structure or function as adults.”
“These structural and functional changes do not all take place along one uniform 
timetable, and the differences in their timing raise two important points relevant to 
the use of neuroscience to guide public policy. First, there is no simple answer to the 
question of when an adolescent brain becomes an adult brain. Brain systems 
implicated in basic cognitive processes reach adult levels of maturity by mid-
adolescence, whereas those that are active in self-regulation do not fully mature until 
late adolescence or even early adulthood. In other words, adolescents mature 
intellectually before they mature socially or emotionally…”

- Laurence Steinberg, PhD
Should the Science of Adolescent Brain Development Inform Public

Policy?, Issues in Science and Technology, Spring 2012

Graphic Source: http://www.nih.gov/researchmatters/july2007/07162007brain.htm
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“The patient’s lack of a ‘voice’ in treatment decisions was repeatedly 
associated with perceived coercion” 

- Newton-Howes and Mullen

“The process of hospital admission, particularly having the opportunity 
to state one’s case and be included in the decisionmaking process, was 
seen by the patients as central to their experience.” 

- Monahan et al

A Patients Lack of Involvement in Treatment Decisions Is 
Associated with Perceptions of Coercion

6

Sources: Charles Bonsack and Francois Borgeat, Perceived coercion and need for hospitalization related to psychiatric admission, International Journal of 
Law and Psychiatry, Vol. 28, 2005, John Monahan et al, Coercion and Commitment: Understanding Involuntary Mental Hospital Admission, International 
Journal of Law and Psychiatry,  Vol. 18: No. 3, 1995, and Giles Newton-Howes and Richard Mullen, Coercion in Psychiatric Care: Systematic Review of 
Correlates and Themes, Psychiatric Services, Vol. 62:5 May 2011.

• “Patients’ associations usually emphasize individual rights, … while 
relatives may insist more on the clinician’s duty to treat mentally ill 
persons even against their will.”

- Bonsack and Borgeat

Different Opinions Can Exist on Whether Coercion Is Appropriate
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Parents With A Child in a Mental Health Crisis 
Can Face Significant Challenges 

Facility related:
◦ Some facilities do not accept children with severe aggression or 

history of violence
◦ Insurance may not cover certain treatments

Transportation related:
◦ Difficulty transporting an unwilling child to mental health facility
◦ Difficulty leaving child to get a ECO/TDO, so the minor can receive 

mental health treatment

7
Source:  JCHC staff conversations with selected parents of minors who have received inpatient 
treatment

Assessment & Evaluation 

Outpatient or Office Based Services 
◦ Child psychiatry, Medication management, Office-based mental health therapy, 

Office-based substance abuse treatment, Educational support for families, Skills 
training 

Case Management 
◦ Children’s case management, Intensive care coordination

Home and Community Based Services 
◦ Home based family therapy services, Intensive in-home services, Mental health 

support services, Behavioral therapy and supports for families, Independent living 
supports for youth/young adults, School-based 1:1 therapy or behavioral 
specialists, Mainstream or Self-contained school-based therapeutic day treatment, 
School-based after-school therapeutic day treatment, Summer programs for special 
education/behavioral challenges, Services in juvenile detention centers 

Intensive Community Supports 
◦ Ongoing or respite In-home family supports, Sponsored placements – specialized 

foster care or therapeutic foster care 
Community Crisis Response Services 24/7 on-call specialized children’s 
emergency service access 

◦ Mobile child crisis response service (to schools, home), In-home crisis 
stabilization support services, Emergency respite care placement service, Crisis 
stabilization unit for children

Residential – Group homes and residential treatment
Inpatient – Acute Inpatient Care, Substance abuse detoxification or residential treatment

8

Types of Adolescent Behavioral Health Services

Intensity, 
cost, and 

disruption of 
home-based 

family life

Less

More

Source:  Adapted from Virginia Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services, Item 304.M. – Final Report:  A Plan for Community Based 
Children’s Behavioral Health Services in Virginia, November 1, 2011. 
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Key Concepts:  Voluntary Admission Process for 
Inpatient Treatment of Minors
2 Types of Voluntary Admission Consent
◦ Parent Only:  A minor younger than 14 years of age may be admitted 

with the consent of a parent. 
◦ Parent and Minor:  A minor 14 years of age or older may be 

admitted with consent of the minor and the minor's parent.
Consenting Minor - the voluntary, express, and informed agreement to 
treatment in a mental health facility by a minor 14 years of age or older
Objecting Minor – A minor 14 years of age or older who (i) objects to 
admission, or (ii) is incapable of making an informed decision.
Involuntary Commitment – After a judicial hearing, a Court orders the 
commitment of an individual to inpatient or outpatient treatment.

9

10

Psychiatric Facilities Reported They Do Not Refuse To 
Accept A Minor Because the Minor Objects

VHHA Summary of Psychiatric Facility Responses: Process of 
Admitting an Objecting Minor
• Hospitals do not refuse to admit a minor simply because he is objecting.
• When a minor is fully educated about his or her rights under the law in these 

cases, often they become more willing to sign the admissions consent.

Issue:  Incorrect information about a facility not admitting 
objecting minors was disseminated
• A Fairfax Falls Church CSB publication incorrectly stated that the local 

psychiatric facilities within Fairfax will not accept an objecting minor
• Document has been removed from CSB website

Sources:  JCHC staff email correspondence with Virginia Hospital & Healthcare Association staff and phone call with Dominion Hospital in Fairfax, Virginia.
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Sometimes a Minor Will Not Be Admitted Even When a 
Psychiatric Facility Has an Open Bed

Private hospitals and residential facilities are not required to provide 
mental health care 
◦ Excluding any Emergency Medical Treatment and Labor Act 

requirements regarding emergency departments

Minor does not meet admission criteria because less restrictive 
treatment alternatives are available.

Examples for when a facility may not accept the minor include:
◦ Patient related:  gender (i.e. a double room occupied by a member of the 

opposite gender); violent behavior; sex offender; or a medical condition 
that can not be managed.

◦ Facility-related: demands of the current unit population
◦ Treatment limitations:  may not treat individuals with intellectual or 

developmental disabilities; eating disorders; substance abuse; or traumatic 
brain injury.

11Sources: JLARC, Availability and Cost of Licensed Psychiatric Services in Virginia, Senate Document No. 19, 2007 and email correspondence 
with Virginia Hospital & Healthcare Association staff.

Historical Summary of Virginia’s Informed Consent 
Requirements for Voluntary Admission of Minors
1979 – U.S. Supreme Court Decision 
◦ In J.L. v. Parham the U.S. Supreme Court found a child has “a liberty interest in not being 

confined for treatment, but parents have an important interest in the rearing of their children and a 
significant role in the decision to hospitalize them.  The state likewise has an interest in the 
appropriate use of mental health facilities.  Parent may, therefore, authorize the “voluntary” 
admission of their children.  However, the risk of error in the parental decision to institutionalize a 
child for mental health treatment is significant enough to warrant an inquiry by a ‘neutral 
factfinder’ to determine that statutory requirements are met”

1990 – Psychiatric Inpatient Treatment of Minors Act enacted in Virginia
◦ Minors 14 years old or older are granted the right to object to voluntary inpatient treatment 
◦ Minors may be admitted for a up to 72 hours to a willing facility pending the review by a qualified 

evaluator
2006-2011–Virginia Supreme Court’s Commission on Mental Health Law Reform
◦ Legal experts, mental health professionals, researchers, judges, advocates reviewed Virginia 

child and adolescent mental health related laws and made statutory recommendations 
including the codification of the Psychiatric Inpatient Treatment of Minors Act 

2008 –Holding period for objecting minor increased from 72 hours to 96 hours
2010 – Codification of the Psychiatric Treatment of Minors Act

Sources:  House Document No. 71 (1989), Report of the Joint Subcommittee to the Governor and General Assembly of Virginia, Studying 
Admission of Minors to Psychiatric Facilities, Chapter 975 of the 1990 Acts of Assembly and Chapters 783 & 808 of the 2008 Acts of 
Assembly, and the Supreme Court of Virginia’s Commission on Mental Health Law Reform website at 
http://www.courts.state.va.us/programs/concluded/cmh/home.html.

12

Note:  A more detailed historical summary is included in Appendix A
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State Laws Vary Significantly and Can Be 
Classified Into 3 Basic Groups

1.  VERY PROTECTIVE OF PARENTS’ RIGHTS 
◦ No judicial review requirement for parental admission of a minor. 

Instead, only a determination by an independent examiner (usually the 
medical director of the mental health facility)

◦ Medical standard for admission is that minor will benefit from treatment 
and that the treatment cannot feasibly take place in a less restrictive 
setting. 

◦ State examples: Arizona, Maryland, Missouri, Minnesota, Ohio, 
Oklahoma, Oregon, Texas

2.  VERY PROTECTIVE OF MINORS’ RIGHTS 
◦ All of these states require a hearing for an objecting minor
◦ In some of these states, standards for admission after a minor’s objection 

are the same as the involuntary commitment standards 
◦ Most have no “holding period” until the hearing 
◦ State examples: Florida, Hawaii, Iowa, New York

13

Source: State statutory review regarding parental admission of minors conducted for JCHC in 2014.  Collection, compilation and 
analyses conducted by Nathaniel Bilhartz and Dr. Richard Bonnie, UVA Director, Institute of Law, Psychiatry and Public Policy.

Most State Laws Can Be Classified as an 
Intermediate Approach

3.  INTERMEDIATE APPROACH TO PARENTAL ADMISSIONS

◦ Some states set a minimum age at which the minor may object to his 
admission (12, 14, 15, or 16)

◦ Maximum “holding period” varies widely, from 3 days to up to 21 days; 
Virginia’s holding period is 4 days. 

◦ Judicial oversight for voluntary admissions of objecting minors;  
All require a hearing for an objecting minor
After the holding period for inpatient treatment to continue, some states require the 
court to determine that the minor meets the criteria for:

Involuntary commitment 
Voluntary commitment

◦ State examples: Colorado, Connecticut, Illinois, Kentucky, Louisiana,  
Michigan, New Jersey, North Carolina, South Dakota, Virginia, Washington, 
West Virginia

14

Source: State statutory review regarding parental admission of minors conducted for JCHC in 2014.  Collection, compilation and 
analyses conducted by Nathaniel Bilhartz, 3L at UVA School of Law  and Dr. Richard Bonnie, UVA Director, Institute of Law, 
Psychiatry and Public Policy.
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Treatment Requirements:
• Within 10 days an individualized treatment plan must be prepared and explained 

to parent and minor.
• Parent or minor 14 or older may revoke consent for treatment and minor is 

discharged within 48 hours unless minor receives TDO or involuntary 
commitment.

• Inpatient treatment through the voluntary admission process may not last for more 
than 90 days unless reauthorized by appropriate hospital medical personnel. 

§16.1-338: Voluntary Admission Process for Inpatient Treatment:
Minors Younger than 14 & Consenting Minors 14 and Older

Requirements:  1) Parent consent,  2) Application for admission, 3) Willing facility, and 
4) Minor’s consent if over 14

Admission Is 
Sought

Evaluation 
within                

48 Hours

Evaluator:
• If to CCCA, CSB employee or designee conducts prescreening report
• If to a private facility, a qualified evaluator conducts evaluation 

Criteria for Approval of Admission:
1. Mental Illness:  minor appears to have a mental illness serious enough to warrant 

inpatient treatment and is reasonably likely to benefit from the treatment; and 
2. Explanation of Treatment:  The minor has been provided with a clinically 

appropriate explanation of the treatment; and 
3. Least Restrictive Treatment:  All available modalities of treatment less restrictive 

than inpatient treatment have been considered and no less restrictive alternative is 
available that would offer comparable benefits. 

15

After 
Admission 
Approval

§16.1-339: Voluntary Admission Process for Inpatient Treatment:
Objecting Minors 14 and Older & Minors Incapable of Making an Informed Decision

Requirements:  1) Parent consent,  2) Application for admission, and 3) Willing facilityAdmission Is 
Sought

Admitted 
for a 

Maximum 
of 96 hours 

Pending 
Review

Evaluation:  CSB employee or designee conducts evaluation within 24 hours

Criteria for Admission:
1. Because of mental illness the minor (i) presents a serious danger to himself or 

others to the extent that severe or irremediable injury is likely to result, as 
evidenced by recent acts or threats or (ii) is experiencing a serious 
deterioration of his ability to care for himself in a developmentally age-
appropriate manner, as evidenced by delusionary thinking or by a significant 
impairment of functioning in hydration, nutrition, self-protection, or self-
control;

2. The minor is in need of inpatient treatment for a mental illness and is reasonably likely to 
benefit from the proposed treatment; and

3. Least Restrictive Treatment:  All available modalities of treatment less restrictive than inpatient 
treatment have been considered and no less restrictive alternative is available that would offer 
comparable benefits. 

16

Judicial Review:
• Guardian ad litem (GAL) and counsel appointed for minor
• Evaluators’ written report provided to GAL and counsel
• Court will conduct review where it deems in the best interest of the child 
• Minor may rescind his objection
• If enough information is not provided, the court may schedule an involuntary 

commitment hearing
• Judge determines if admission criteria are met

Larger Font 
Text and Bold 

denotes 
differences 

from §16.1-338
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Data is Limited on Voluntary Inpatient or Residential 
Treatment of Minors in Virginia

No statewide data exists regarding the frequency of minors’: 
◦ Voluntary admissions, 
◦ Voluntary admissions over objection, or 
◦ Court cases regarding objecting minors 

Part of the picture:  85% of juveniles who receive CSB mental health crisis 
evaluations are admitted to private facilities.

(Sample: April 2013 Virginia CSB emergency evaluations) 

◦ Voluntary admissions under §16.1-338  and §16.1-339 require an evaluation by 
someone  designated by a CSB only when: 

A minor 14 or older is objecting, or
Admission is sought to the CCCA

◦ CSBs  are not required to evaluate minors that are admitted to private facilities 
under §16.1-338  

17Source: The Institute of Law, Psychiatry and Public Policy, A Study of Face-to-Face Emergency Evaluations Conducted by Community 
Services Boards in April 2013, December 2013. .

Code of Virginia Examples of When Minors Are Allowed to 
Consent for Medical and Health Services

Minor deemed as an adult in consenting for (§54.1-2969.E):
Mental illness outpatient care, treatment or rehabilitation. 
Receive birth control, pregnancy or family planning services
Treatment of venereal, infectious or contagious disease
Substance abuse outpatient care, treatment or rehabilitation
Authorizing disclosure of medical records (related to the items above)

Emergency Services (§54.1-2969.E):
A minor 14+ years of age who is physically capable of giving consent must provide 
consent prior to receiving medical treatment in cases of a medical emergency, when a 
delay in providing medical treatment to a minor may adversely affect such minor's 
recovery and no other authorized person is available to provide consent.

Donating Blood (§54.1‐2969.H)
A minor 16+ years of age may donate blood with the consent of a parent or legal 
guardian. 
A minor 17 years of age may donate blood to a nonprofit, voluntary organization 
without parental consent.

18

Note:  
Virginia’s Age 
of Majority is 

18 years of age 
(§1-204)
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Code of Virginia Examples Regarding Minors and 
Criminal Law

Trial (§16.1-269.1): A juvenile 14+ years of age may be treated as an 
adult for the trial and disposition of certain delinquent offenses.

Detention (§16.1-284.1):   A juvenile 14+ years of age may be 
confined in a secure facility after the commission of certain delinquent 
offenses for up to 6 months.

Summons  (§16.1-263 A.): A juvenile 12+ years of age is entitled to a 
summons when a Petition is filed and the child is a proper or necessary 
party to the proceeding.

19

ILPPP Is Currently Analyzing Virginia’s Adult and Juvenile 
Involuntary Commitment Process

The Institute of Law, Psychiatry and Public Policy (ILPPP) has been 
quantitatively analyzing involuntary commitment processes in Virginia 
for adults and juveniles.   
◦ DBHDS has contracted with the Institute to analyze ECOs, TDOs, and 

involuntary commitment cases
◦ Court case data is being provided by the Supreme Court of Virginia.

Recent ILPPP Publications

• A Study of Face-to-Face Emergency Evaluations of Adults in April 2013:  
Variations Across Regions and CSBs

• A Study of Face-to-Face Emergency Evaluations Conducted by Community 
Services Boards in April 2013

• Operation of the Civil Commitment Process in FY11
• Study of Emergency Evaluations Conducted by Emergency Services Personnel 

in Community Services Boards, June 2007
• Civil Commitment Hearings:  District Court Variations in FY11

20Source: JCHC staff correspondence with The Supreme Court of Virginia and VHI staff, and Institute of Law, Psychiatry, & Public 
Policy website at http://cacsprd.web.virginia.edu/ILPPP/PublicationsAndPolicy/Index/Policy .



10/15/2014

11

Minors Do Not Have the Ability to Create a 
Advanced Directive for Mental Health Conditions to 
an Inpatient Facility

§ 37.2-805.1 of the Code of Virginia sets out a process for 
adults to be admitted under an advance directive for mental 
health conditions to an inpatient facility
◦ Provides for an advanced directive that allows an agent to make 

decisions regarding admission to a psychiatric facility when the 
individual is legally incapacitated and protesting admission

Under the statute, an individual’s admission to an inpatient 
facility can last for no more than 10 calendar days

21

No comparable statutory framework exists for minors under Virginia law

Policy Options
Policy Options 2-5 provide different balances for conflicting 
considerations.  Virginia’s voluntary inpatient treatment of minors law 
touches on many important concepts including:

Liberty interest of minors
Degree of appropriate:
◦ Adolescent legal autonomy
◦ Parental decision-making for adolescent
Decisional capability of a 14 year old or older adolescent 
Decisional capability of a 14 year old or older adolescent with a serious 
emotional disturbance
Type of fact-finding review for a minor’s potential admission 
Clinical admission criteria for a consenting minor and objecting minor
When in-patient treatment is appropriate over a minor’s objection

22
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Policy Options
Option 1:   Provide a written report of study findings and JCHC 
recommendations to the Senate and House Courts of Justice Committees.

Option 2:   Introduce legislation to amend Code of Virginia §§ 16.1-338 
and 16.1-339 to remove the minor consent requirement for voluntary 
inpatient psychiatric treatment. The current admission criteria for 
voluntary admission of a minor is used. 
◦ Substantive policy of House Bill 1097

Option 3:   Introduce legislation to amend Code of Virginia §§ 16.1-338 
and 16.1-339 to remove the minor consent requirement for voluntary 
inpatient psychiatric treatment with an option for judicial review for 
minors who are 14 years of age or older who object to admission.  When 
judicial review occurs, the current admission criteria for voluntary 
admission of an objecting minor is used.   
◦ Substantive policy of Senate Bill 184

23

Policy Options
Option 4:   Introduce legislation to amend Code of Virginia §§
16.1-338 and 16.1-339 to change the minimum age a minor may 
object to psychiatric inpatient treatment from 14 years of age to:

A. 15 years of age
B. 16 years of age
C. 17 years of age

Option 5:   Introduce legislation to amend Code of Virginia §
16.1-339 to increase the time allowed before a petition for 
judicial approval is filed from 96 hours (4 days) to:

A. 120 hours (5 days)
B. 144 hours (6 days)

24
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Policy Options
Option 6:  Include in the JCHC work plan for 2015 that staff convene a 
workgroup to study the idea of establishing an advance directive for 
mental health conditions for use by minors. 
The following groups and individuals would be invited to participate in 
the workgroup, as well as other interested parties:

American Civil Liberties Union
Attorney General of Virginia
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services
disAbility Law Center of Virginia
JustChildren of the Legal Aid Justice Center
National Alliance on Mental Illness of Virginia
Parents of minors with mental health conditions who may need inpatient 
psychiatric treatment
UVA Institute of Law, Psychiatry and Public Policy
Virginia Association of Community Services Boards
Virginia Hospital and Healthcare Association
Voices for Virginia’s Children

25

Policy Options
Option 7:  By letter of the JCHC Chair, request that the 
Institute of Law, Psychiatry and Public Policy review and 
describe current practices regarding admission of minors 
for inpatient psychiatric treatment in Virginia and report 
back to JCHC when findings and conclusions are available 

26
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New Member-Proposed Policy Options

Option 8:  Introduce legislation to amend Code of Virginia §
16.1-338 to allow a minor 14 years of age or older to consent 
for voluntary inpatient psychiatric treatment without the 
consent of  the minor’s parent.  

Option 9:   Introduce legislation to amend Code of Virginia §
16.1-338.D to require that the mental health facility notify the 
consenting parent immediately if a minor 14 or older objects 
at any time to further treatment.  In addition, the parent shall 
be informed of the avenues available to request continued 
admission under Code §§ 16.1-339, 16.1-340.1, or 16.1-345.

27

New Member-Proposed Policy Options
Option 10:   Introduce legislation to amend Code of Virginia § 16.1-339
to make consistent the mental health criteria for admission of an objecting 
minor with the existing mental health criteria for a voluntary admission of 
a consenting minor in Code § 16.1-338.

◦ Current mental health criteria in § 16.1-339:
◦ “1.  Because of mental illness, the minor (i) presents a serious danger to himself or 

others to the extent that severe or irremediable injury is likely to result, as evidenced 
by recent acts or threats or (ii) is experiencing a serious deterioration of his ability to 
care for himself in a developmentally age-appropriate manner, as evidenced by 
delusionary thinking or by a significant impairment of functioning in hydration, 
nutrition, self-protection, or self-control; 

◦ 2. The minor is in need of inpatient treatment for a mental illness and is reasonably 
likely to benefit from the proposed treatment; and 

◦ 3. Inpatient treatment is the least restrictive alternative that meets the minor's needs.”
◦ Proposed mental health criteria from § 16.1-338:

“The minor appears to have a mental illness serious enough to warrant inpatient 
treatment and is reasonably likely to benefit from the treatment; and
… All available modalities of treatment less restrictive than inpatient treatment have 
been considered and no less restrictive alternative is available that would offer 
comparable benefits to the minor.”

28
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New Member-Proposed Policy Options

Option 11:  Include in the JCHC work plan for 2015, a staff review of the 
implications of allowing a minor to consent for inpatient treatment at a 
mental health facility without the consent of the minor’s parent.  The 
review shall include consideration of 1) amending Code § 16.1-338 to 
allow a minor 14 years of age or older to consent for voluntary inpatient 
mental health treatment without the consent of the minor’s parent, 2) 
creating a  judicial review regarding release under Code § 16.1-339 when 
the minor desires to continue inpatient treatment and consent for continued 
admission is withdrawn from the parent who consented to the minor’s 
admission, and 3) reimbursement issues for services provided when a 
minor receives inpatient mental health treatment without the consent of the 
minor’s parent.  

29

Public Comments
Written public comments on the proposed options may be submitted 
to JCHC by close of business on October 30, 2014. 

Comments may be submitted via:
◦ E-mail: sreid@jchc.virginia.gov
◦ Fax: 804-786-5538  
◦ Mail:  Joint Commission on Health Care

P.O. Box 1322 
Richmond, Virginia  23218  

Comments will be summarized and presented during JCHC’s 
November 5th meeting

30
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APPENDICES
A. Detailed History - Virginia’s Informed 

Consent Requirements for Voluntary 
Admission of Minors (1976-present)

B. Behavioral Health Services for Children and 
Adolescents in Virginia

31

Appendix A:

Detailed History - Virginia’s Informed 

Consent Requirements for Voluntary 

Admission of Minors

32
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Timeline:  Consent Requirements for Voluntary 
Admission of Minors
Pre-1976 – Virginia allowed voluntary admission of minors on the request 
of the parent or any person standing in loco parentis to such minor.
1976
◦ J.L. v. Parham, 412 F. Supp. (M.D. Ga. 1976) – Federal District Court 

held that Georgia's statutory scheme for voluntary civil commitment was 
unconstitutional.

◦ Code of Virginia amended to treat minors above the age 14 as adults for 
purposes of voluntary admission

1979 – U.S. Supreme Court reverses Federal District Court’s decision in 
J.L. v. Parham.

“The court found that a child does have a liberty interest in not being confined for treatment, 
but parents have an important interest in the rearing of their children an a significant role in 
the decision to hospitalize them.  The state likewise has an interest in the appropriate use of 
mental health facilities.  Parent may, therefore authorize the “voluntary” admission of their 
children.  However, the risk of error in the parental decision to institutionalize a child for 
mental health treatment is significant enough to warrant an inquiry by a ‘neutral factfinder’ to 
determine that statutory requirements are met”

Source:  House Document No. 71 (1989), Report of the Joint Subcommittee to the Governor and General Assembly 
of Virginia, Studying Admission of Minors to Psychiatric Facilities. 33

Timeline:  Consent Requirements for Voluntary 
Admission of Minors (Continued)

1982 – General Assembly Joint Subcommittee studied civil commitment 
laws but not specifically as to minors                                      (HJR 10-1980, 
HJR 73-1982)

1984 – Task Force on the Commitment Statutes Concerning the Psychiatric 
Hospitalization of Minors issues its report.

1985 – Legislation introduced but action on bill was delayed due to 
concerns that were discussed and studied over the next few years.  

1989 – Joint Subcommittee Studying Admission of Minors to Psychiatric 
Facilities (HJR 97) established

Source:  House Document No. 71 (1989), Report of the Joint Subcommittee to the Governor and General Assembly 
of Virginia, Studying Admission of Minors to Psychiatric Facilities. 34
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Timeline:  1990 – Psychiatric Inpatient Treatment 
of Minors Act enacted (Ch. 975)

Inpatient Admission Consent Revocation of Consent
Less than 14 years of age:  Parent Parent
14 years of age or older:  Minor and parent Minor or parent
Note:   An evaluation of minor by a qualified evaluator is required within 48 hours

Parental admission of objecting minor 14 years of age or older
A. May be admitted for up to 72 hours to a willing facility pending the review by a qualified evaluator
B. Minor shall by examined within 24 hours by designated CSB evaluator who will not be treating the minor
C. Evaluator shall prepare a report including findings of whether:

1. The minor presents a serious danger to himself or others to the extent that severe or irremediable injury is likely 
to result or is unable to care for himself in a developmentally age-appropriate manner

2. The minor is in need of inpatient treatment for a mental illness and is reasonably likely to benefit from treatment
3. Inpatient treatment is the least restrictive alternative to meet the minor’s needs.

D. If minor is admitted, Judicial approval from the J&DR court is petitioned and Guardian ad Litem (GAL) is appointed by 
court for the minor.

E. The Court and GAL conduct a review and find either: 
1. The minor does not meet the criteria for admission and the minor is released, or
2. The minor meets the criteria for admission and an order for continued hospitalization for up to 90 days on the 

basis of parental consent, or
3. Available information is insufficient and an involuntary commitment hearing is scheduled.  (The minor may be 

detained 72 hours pending the holding of the hearing.)

35

Timeline:  Consent Requirements for Admission of 
Minors (Continued)

2008:  Process and Counsel Requirements
◦ The Court shall appoint counsel for involuntary commitment hearing and proceedings for 

judicial approval of an objecting minor 14 years of age or older. (Ch. 807)
◦ Minors 14 years of age or older who are incapable of making an informed decision may be 

admitted to inpatient treatment upon application of a parent.  The minor will have the same legal 
process protections as a minor over the age of 14 who objects.   (Ch. 139 &  774)

◦ Timing and Petition changes to the Psychiatric Inpatient Treatment Act (Ch. 783 & 808)
Increases from 72 hours to 96 hours the length of time: (i) to hold a hearing for the 
involuntary commitment of a minor or the emergency admission of a minor for inpatient 
treatment, and (ii) that a minor may be admitted by his parents to a facility over his 
objections. 
The time to hold the involuntary commitment hearing runs from the issuance of the 
temporary detention order or the filing of the petition for such hearing, whichever occurs 
later. 
A petition for judicial approval of the admission of a minor by his parents over his objections 
shall be filed no sooner than 24 hours and no later than 96 hours after his admission.
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Timeline:  Consent Requirements for Admission of 
Minors (Continued)
2009: Minors who meet criteria for involuntary commitment may be 

ordered to mandatory outpatient treatment in certain circumstances 
(Ch. 455 & 555)
A person who meets the criteria for involuntary commitment under the 
Psychiatric Inpatient Treatment of Minors Act may be ordered to receive 
mandatory outpatient treatment if less restrictive alternatives to involuntary 
inpatient treatment are appropriate and available, and the minor and his 
parents have the capacity to understand the stipulations of the minor's 
treatment and to comply with such outpatient treatment and they have 
agreed to abide by the treatment plan. 
The bill also clarifies that the commitment criteria for minors, and not the 
criteria for adults, apply when the emergency admission of a minor is 
sought under the procedures for the emergency admission of an adult set 
forth in Article 4 (§ 37.2-808 et seq.) of Chapter 8 of Title 37.2. 
The bill also provides that a minor who has been properly detained by a 
juvenile and domestic relations court may petition for voluntary admission 
and treatment of mental illness. 

37

Timeline:  Consent Requirements for Admission of 
Minors (Continued)
2006-2011–Virginia Supreme Court’s Commission on Mental Health 

Law Reform
Legal experts, mental health professionals, researchers, judges, and 
advocates reviewed Virginia mental health related laws including the 
Psychiatric Inpatient Treatment of Minors Act 
In 2009, the Commission recommended the recodification of the 
Psychiatric Inpatient Treatment of Minors Act

2010–Revision of Psychiatric Inpatient Treatment of Minors Act
(Ch. 778 & 825)

Revises the Psychiatric Inpatient Treatment of Minors Act in order to create 
a stand alone juvenile commitment act that will be titled the Psychiatric 
Treatment of Minors Act and to eliminate various cross references to the 
adult commitment statutes in Title 37.2.

38
Source: Commonwealth of Virginia Commission on Mental Health Law Reform, Progress Report of Mental Health Law Reform, December 
2009 at http://www.courts.state.va.us/programs/concluded/cmh/reports/2009_progress_report.pdf.
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Appendix B:

Behavioral Health Services for 

Children and Adolescents in Virginia

39

40

Mental Health Base Services for Children and 
Adolescents in Virginia

A 2011 Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services report found:
Inconsistency across the state in the availability and capacity of ‘Base Services.’
Many children do not receive services early enough, which may mean their conditions 
worsen and result in delayed, more restrictive, and more costly services.

Source:  Virginia Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services, Item 304.M. – Final Report:  A Plan for Community Based 
Children’s Behavioral Health Services in Virginia, November 1, 2011. 
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41

Amending §16.1-338 and §16.1-339 Would Impact Voluntary Admissions of 
Minors to Psychiatric Hospitals and Level C Residential Treatment Centers 

Hospital:
• CJW Medical Center
• Poplar Springs
• VCU Health System

Level C:
• Cumberland Hospital
• Hallmark Youth Care
• Jackson-Feild Homes
• MBHS of Kenbridge
• Poplar Springs Hospital
• United Methodist Family Services

Central Region East Region

North Region

Hospital:
• Bon Secours – Maryview 
• Riverside Behavioral Health
• The Kempsville Center

Level C:
• Harbor Point Behavioral Health Center
• Kempsville Center for Behavioral Health
• Newport News Behavioral Health Center
• Pendleton Child Service Center
• Riverside Behavioral Health Centers
• The James Barry Robinson Institute

Hospital:
• Dominion Hospital

Level C:
• Phoenix Houses of the Mid-Atlantic

Hospital:
• Carilion Roanoke Memorial
• Centra Health 
• Lewis Gale

Level C:
• Hughes Center for Exceptional Children

Southwest Region

Northwest Region
Hospital:

• Mary Washington
Level C:

• Childhelp USA
• Commonwealth Center for Children

and Adolescents (CCCA)
• Grafton Integrated Health Network
• Liberty Point Behavioral Healthcare
• North Spring Behavioral Healthcare

Sources:  JCHC staff email correspondence with officials from the Department 
of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services and VHI.org.


